Staff honored by Edgecombe schools

1 of 2

Peggy Buck, right, of G.W. Bulluck Elementary School, smiles after winning the Lifetime Achievement Award as fellow finalists Sandra Langley, left, and Jalene Bullock appluad Thursday during the Edge Awards at Edgecombe Community College.


Staff Writer

Friday, June 7, 2019

TARBORO — Edgecombe County Public Schools held its second annual Edge Awards on Thursday night in the Keihin Auditorium on the Tarboro campus of Edgecombe Community College.

Valerie Bridges, superintendent of the school district, said the event was a time of celebration and rejuvenation as the school year winds to a close.

“This is a time to celebrate accomplishments,” Bridges said.

The Edge Awards began with recognition of employees retiring from the school district, teachers whose classes exceeded growth in the 2017-18 academic year and staff who earned performance bonuses this year from the state.

Several special employee awards categories then were presented.

Kristin Miller of G.W. Carver Elementary School was honored as assistant principal of the year. Other finalists for this award were Mary Bridgers of South Edgecombe Middle School, Shavon Brown of SouthWest Edgecombe High School and Leshaun Jenkins of Princeville Elementary School.

Pamela Woodlief was recognized as Teacher Assistant of the Year while Pamela Gorham was recognized as Bus Driver of the Year.

Ryan Terrell, network manager in the Central Office of the school district, was named Classified Employee of the the Year and Yolanda Jones, a guidance counselor at Princeville Elementary School, was named Certified Employee of the Year.

There were 14 finalists for the Beginning Teacher of the Year Award — one from each school in the district. Of the 14 finalists, Antwan Brown of Martin Millennium Academy was selected as the winner.

A new award this year was the Classroom Teacher Spirit Award. This award was given to Suzanne Sharpe, a teacher at G.W. Carver Elementary School.

The Cutting Edge Award was presented to Sheronica Sharpe, a digital literacy coach at Coker-Wimberly Elementary School.

Peggy Buck of G.W. Elementary School was honored with the Lifetime Achievement Award.

The Superintendent Award was given this year to Jerome Williams, the new director of maintenance for the school district.

The evening ended with a reception for the award winners and their families.

More information about the awards ceremony will be posted to the school district website in the near future.