Gryphons' Phillips, Norwood win doubles championship


Rocky Mount High boys' tennis coach Charlie Lawrence Jr., center, stands with Sam Phillips, left, and Landon Norwood after the doubles pair won the Big East Conference championship on Wednesday at Barton College.


Telegram Reports

Wednesday, April 17, 2019

Sam Phillips and Landon Norwood didn’t lose a match when they played doubles together throughout the regular season.

The partners from Rocky Mount High haven’t lost yet in the postseason, either.

Phillips and Norwood defeated Wilson Fike’s Max Fogleman and Marty Madar in the championship match of the Big East Conference individual championships on Wednesday at Barton College. The pair entered the two-day tournament with a 12-0 record.

Gryphons freshman Brody Brice was also in contention in the singles circuit, and advanced to the championship match where he lost to Cole Person of Fike.

Girls’ soccer

Rocky Mount Academy 3, Wayne Country Day 0

Rocky Mount Academy (14-2) pushed its winning streak to 10 games with Wednesday’s road non-conference win.

Barrett Eidson controlled the midfield and had two assists for the Eagles, while Lorna Eidson, Deborah Kitchen and Lindsey Boyette each scored a goal.

The Eagles have five shutouts during the 10-win stretch. They will return to action on April 30 at home against Kerr-Vance Academy.

Boys track

Northern Nash 74, Southern Nash 60, Rocky Mount High 52

The Knights won a Big East Conference triangular meet on Wednesday.

Southern Nash’s Trysten Roberson recorded a personal record in the pole vault with a height of 12 feet, 6 inches. That’s eight inches off the school record of 13-2. Elsewhere for the Firebirds, Jalen McClaston won the 110- and 300-meter hurdles events.

Girls track

Rocky Mount High 63.5, Southern Nash 63, Northern Nash 20.5

The Gryphons edged Southern Nash by a half-point in a Big East Conference triangular.

Southern Nash turned in a personal record in the 4x800 as Iris Radilla, Brisa Sevilla, Makayla Gibson and Jadiza Jimenez combined for an 11:40. Krystal Taybron won the long jump, while Jenira Mckoy (200 meters), Tekerrah Wilson (high jump), Taylor Gardner (pole vault), Foster (100) and Jimenez (1,600) all collected individual wins.