ECC Honor Society inducts 27 students


New Phi Theta Kappa honor society members at Edgecombe Community College include, front, from left, Jessica Duff, Maria Mata-Reyes, Angelica Staggers, Katie Skinner, Nora Wilson, Destiny Sexton, Taylor Redwine, Twain White, back row, from left, Tamisia Lynch, Suzanne Peaden, Jessica Taylor, McKayla Davis, Kaitlyn Evans, Karah Joyner, Miccah Tillery and William Duff.


From Contributed Reports

Wednesday, May 15, 2019

Edgecombe Community College’s Alpha Omega Nu chapter of Phi Theta Kappa inducted 27 students into its membership during an April 10 induction ceremony held on the Rocky Mount campus.

Phi Theta Kappa is an honor society for students attending two-year schools.

The guest speaker at the induction ceremony was ECC President Greg McLeod. The event marked a milestone for the ECC chapter, which celebrates 25 years this academic year.

The Spring 2019 Phi Theta Kappa inductees are La’Kira R. Bullard, Azella Carr, McKayla M. Davis, Jessica L. Duff, William B. Duff, Amy J. Edmondson, Kaitlyn R. Evans, Te’quisha S. Farrow, Shamanda T. Harris, Sarah K. Heath, Lynn H. House, Karah H. Joyner, Bailey N. Lamm, Tamisia D. Lynch, Maria G. Mata-Reyes, Emilie F. Moore, Joseph P. Moseley, Suzanne H. Peaden, Taylor E. Redwine, Destiny N. Sexton, Katie E. Skinner, Angelica F. Staggers, Matthew G. Strickland, Jessica B. Taylor, Miccah M. Tillery, Twain R. White and Nora R. Wilson.

Tamara Frank-Pourvady, a professional tutor at the college, serves as advisor to the honor society.

To be a member of Phi Theta Kappa, students must have completed 12 credit hours in an associate degree program and have a cumulative grade point average of 3.5 or higher. Students must then maintain at least a 3.25 grade point average to remain in the group.