Kelley Deal: Scholarship program renamed


Kelley Deal is dean of marketing at Nash Community College.


Nash Community College

Sunday, November 4, 2018

Nash Community College President Bill Carver announced Monday the naming of the Rocky Mount Rotary Open Door Scholars Program.

The scholarship, established in 2016 and funded by the annual Tackle the Tar event, provides educational opportunities for NCC students to acquire the skills needed to prepare for successful careers.

The program naming was inspired by Dr. W. Dallas Herring’s belief in total education. As the former chairman of the State Board of Education, Herring was an innovator and visionary who made significant contributions to the establishment, development and expansion of the state Community College System. Often referred to as the “father of the N.C. community colleges,” he believed that education should be available to all and that community colleges should “….take people from where they are, as far as they can go.” Herring devoted his life to opening the doors of opportunity and learning for all North Carolinians.

The NCC Foundation was awarded $22,000 this year by the Rotary Club of Rocky Mount from proceeds raised at the Rotary-sponsored 5k obstacle course race and family fun day. Over the past few years, Nash Community College students have benefited from $51,000 awarded in student scholarships by the Rotary Club.

At Nash Community College’s 43rd annual Scholarship Awards Ceremony, the NCC Foundation awarded more than $240,000 in scholarships to students for the 2018-19 academic year. The following Rocky Mount Rotary Open Door Scholars were among the scholarship recipients: Joshua Barbour, Criminal Justice Technology, Rocky Mount; Danielle Batts, General Education–Medical Assisting, Nashville; Sherrie Brizendine, Practical Nursing Diploma, Spring Hope; Lorenzo Celaya- Orozco, Associate Degree Nursing, Bailey; Michaela Cooper, Medical Sonography, Whitakers; Brianna Denton, Associate in General Education–Nursing, Middlesex; Amanda Duke, Early Childhood Education, Spring Hope; Latrisa Green, Culinary Arts, Whitakers; Haley Honeycutt, Associate in Science, Nashville; Cortney Mellas, Electronics Engineering Technology, Middlesex; Heather Ogburn, Associate Degree Nursing, Whitakers; Zachary Perry, Associate in Science, Bailey; Josue Ramirez-Pioquinto, Electrical Systems Technology, Spring Hope; Eddie Stansbury, Welding Technology, Rocky Mount; Crystal Tyson, Associate Degree Nursing, Rocky Mount; and Ashleigh Worrell, Human Services Technology Gerontology, Rocky Mount.

NCC Foundation Board President Frank Maynard thanked donors by saying, “The Nash County-Rocky Mount community has been most supportive for making student scholarships available for the most deserving students. Because of your generosity, the foundation has been able to award the gift of education and help sustain the building of the local work force.”

Since its beginning in 1983, the NCC Foundation has made its mark on the community sending forth skilled employees, helping graduates launch careers.

“Students attend Nash Community College to gain new skills, retrain for different careers, and to prepare for a hopeful future,” Maynard said.

For more information about the Nash Community College Foundation, call 252-451-8329 or email phballew947@nashcc.edu. The Nash Community College Foundation Inc. is a tax-exempt, nonprofit 501(c)3 organization.